Adagio for Canon – Chapter 1 (Fragment)

Here is another fragment, this time for chapter 1 from my work in-progress: Adagio for Canon.

#######################################

Outside the door, I could hear Anastasia’s footsteps as she lazily walked by. Each step was soft, carefully measured. She was almost like a cat, a small kitten hissing at anyone who dared get too friendly.

Upon hearing the gate open, I peeked from my window; they always seemed to be the morning attraction. Orion would run, in a hysterical game of cat and mouse, Anastasia would chase right after him, with almost no success and a few slips and falls in the process. She would take a quick glance, from time to time, at my room to see if my window was open. I would always wave at her. She’d act as if she didn’t see me.

Still oblivious to the dog’s strategy, she stepped out the door. All the while, Orion had run around the perimeter and sneaked behind her. It wasn’t long till Orion’s victory was assured. All I saw was her body falling completely on its back over some of the neatly cut ornamental trees around the fence, legs still in the air.

She gave up in her failed attempts at freedom, still hanging upside down from the elegantly box-trimmed Thuja trees. The clever little monster stood nearby and watched as she struggled to her feet after such a tackle. I had never laughed so hard, and all at the expense of my sister’s misfortune. It seems to me, that this day has already started with some home entertainment.

Leave a Reply

