Adagio for Canon – Chapter 2 (Fragment)

Ana had fallen asleep on the sofa. It was only seven twenty in the evening, but she has been through hell. I was too hard on her; she’s my only sister, I need to care for her. Maybe I deserved this, the bruises and stripping of my position. I’ve been an asshole ever since she started high school.

 

I walked towards her, bending down over the sofa to kiss her forehead. She opened her eyes and wrapped her arms around my neck.

 

“I knew you wouldn’t leave me,” she whispered. Her eyes were bloodshot red. She must have been crying all afternoon.

“Of course not, silly. Now let go of me, my back hurts,”

She gave me a quick kiss on the cheek. “Sorry about the whole mess. I’ll make it up to you.”

“No, don’t worry about it. It’s time for me to act like a real brother. I’ll be there for you. Trust me.”

“Thank you,” she smiled, wiping the lingering tears in her eyes.

Leave a Reply

